Data policy

Kaitu keeps a reference database of schools, colleges, universities and the bodies that accredit, register or inspect them, built only from open, official and openly licensed sources. This page explains how it is collected and credits every source.

KaituDataBot

Our software identifies itself as KaituDataBot/1.0 (+https://kaitu.org/data-policy). It prefers official bulk downloads and published APIs over reading web pages; it sends one request at a time to each site with pauses between them, follows each publisher's rate limits and Retry-After replies, asks only for files that have changed (conditional requests) and keeps its own copy so nothing is fetched twice. It honours robots.txt for web pages. Documented machine endpoints (SPARQL and Overpass services, dataset downloads, REST APIs) are used under their publishers' usage policies.

What it collects

Facts about organisations: names, locations, websites, levels of study, founding year, and accreditation, registration or recognition status as published by the responsible body. It does not collect information about individual people.

Sources, licences and attribution

SourceLicenceAttribution
Kaitu reference list of accreditors and authorisersKaitu editorial list (facts from each organisation’s official website)Compiled by Kaitu from the official websites of the organisations listed.
Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP)Public domain (U.S. Government work)U.S. Department of Education, Office of Postsecondary Education — Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs.
EQAR — European Quality Assurance Register and DEQAR (quality-assurance results)Open Data Commons Public Domain Dedication and Licence (PDDL) 1.0Data: EQAR — European Quality Assurance Register for Higher Education (DEQAR), used under the ODC PDDL.
International quality-assurance networks — member directories (INQAAHE, ENQA, ANQAHE, AfriQAN, CEENQA, ECA, AQAN, CANQATE)Facts from public member directories; each network’s own termsMember directories of INQAAHE, ENQA, ANQAHE, AfriQAN (Association of African Universities), CEENQA, ECA, AQAN and CANQATE; INQAAHE ISG review register.
Wikidata — accreditors, quality-assurance agencies and education regulatorsCC0 1.0 (Wikidata)Wikidata contributors (wikidata.org), CC0. Logos are links to Wikimedia Commons files, each under its own licence.
International school accreditation and authorisation directoriesFacts from public directories (NEASC, ACS WASC, COBIS, Cambridge International); the British schools overseas list is Crown copyright under the Open Government Licence v3.0School directories of NEASC (neasc.org), ACS WASC (acswasc.org), COBIS (cobis.org.uk) and Cambridge International (cambridgeinternational.org); British schools overseas list from the Department for Education (GOV.UK), Open Government Licence v3.0.
APQN member directory (unavailable: site integrity)Not used (directory unavailable)Asia-Pacific Quality Network — not currently used.
OfS Register of English higher education providersOpen Government Licence v3.0Contains public sector information from the Office for Students (OfS Register), licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
TEQSA National Register of higher education providers (Australia)Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 AustraliaTertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency — National Register (data.gov.au), CC BY 2.5 AU.
CAA licensed higher-education institutions (United Arab Emirates)Public information of the Commission for Academic Accreditation (reused with attribution)Commission for Academic Accreditation, UAE Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research — licensed institutions.
DBH higher-education institutions (Norway)Norwegian Licence for Open Government Data (NLOD) 2.0Direktoratet for høyere utdanning og kompetanse (HK-dir) — Database for statistikk om høyere utdanning (DBH).
Estabelecimentos de ensino superior — DGEEC (Portugal)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Direção-Geral de Estatísticas da Educação e Ciência (DGEEC) — Estabelecimentos de ensino superior (serviço INSPIRE da DGT).
HEC recognised universities and degree-awarding institutes (Pakistan)Public information of the Higher Education Commission (reused with attribution)Higher Education Commission, Pakistan — Recognised universities and degree-awarding institutes.
Higher-education institutions — MHESI (Thailand)MHESI open data (licence not specified; reused with attribution)กระทรวงการอุดมศึกษา วิทยาศาสตร์ วิจัยและนวัตกรรม (อว.) — ข้อมูลสถาบันอุดมศึกษา (data.mhesi.go.th).
Hochschulkompass — higher-education institutions (Germany)Published by the Hochschulrektorenkonferenz for download (no explicit licence stated; reused with attribution)Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK) — Hochschulkompass, Liste der Hochschulen.
IPEDS institutional directory (NCES)Public domain (U.S. Government work)U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS).
POL-on register of higher-education institutions (Poland)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Ministerstwo Nauki i Szkolnictwa Wyższego — RAD-on / POL-on, dane otwarte.
Principaux établissements d’enseignement supérieur (France)Licence Ouverte / Open Licence 2.0Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche — Principaux établissements d’enseignement supérieur (Paysage), Licence Ouverte 2.0.
ROR — Research Organization Registry (education organisations)CC0 1.0Research Organization Registry (ror.org), data dump on Zenodo (community ror-data), CC0.
Susa-navet higher-education providers (Sweden)CC0 1.0Skolverket / Universitets- och högskolerådet — Susa-navet (utbildningsinformation), CC0.
全国高等学校名单 — Ministry of Education (China)Government information publicly released by the Ministry of Education of the PRC (reused with attribution)中华人民共和国教育部 — 全国高等学校名单.
CRICOS registered providers (Australia)Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 AustraliaAustralian Government Department of Education — CRICOS (data.gov.au), CC BY 2.5 AU.
Designated learning institutions list (Canada)Crown copyright — reproduced under the canada.ca terms and conditions (non-commercial reproduction permitted with attribution)Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada — Designated learning institutions list.
World Higher Education Database (IAU / UNESCO)Published by the International Association of Universities for information; used with attribution and linked back to the recordInternational Association of Universities (IAU) / UNESCO — World Higher Education Database (WHED).
Wikidata — educational institutions worldwideCC0 1.0 (Wikidata)Wikidata contributors (wikidata.org), CC0. Logos are links to Wikimedia Commons files, each under its own licence.
Anagrafe scuole statali e paritarie (Italy)Italian Open Data Licence v2.0Ministero dell’Istruzione e del Merito — Anagrafe scuole statali e paritarie (dati.istruzione.it), IODL 2.0.
DUO open onderwijsdata — schools and institutions (Netherlands)CC0 1.0DUO (Dienst Uitvoering Onderwijs), Ministerie van Onderwijs, Cultuur en Wetenschap — open onderwijsdata.
EHIS — register of educational institutions (Estonia)Estonian public-sector open data (free reuse with attribution)Haridus- ja Teadusministeerium — Eesti Hariduse Infosüsteem (EHIS) avaandmed.
EMIS masterlist of schools — Department of Basic Education (South Africa)Published by the Department of Basic Education for public use (no explicit licence stated; reused with attribution)Department of Basic Education, Republic of South Africa — EMIS masterlist of schools.
Establecimientos educativos and SNIES institutions (Colombia)Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0Ministerio de Educación Nacional de Colombia — datos.gov.co (establecimientos educativos; SNIES).
Get Information about Schools (England)Open Government Licence v3.0Contains public sector information from the Department for Education (Get Information about Schools), licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
INEP School Census and Higher Education Census (Brazil)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (Brazilian federal open data)Instituto Nacional de Estudos e Pesquisas Educacionais Anísio Teixeira (INEP) — Microdados do Censo Escolar e do Censo da Educação Superior.
Institutionsregistret (Denmark)Public register data of the Danish Ministry of Children and Education (no explicit licence stated; reused with attribution)Styrelsen for IT og Læring (STIL), Børne- og Undervisningsministeriet — Institutionsregistret.
Ministry of Education school directories (Taiwan)Open Government Data License, version 1.0 (Taiwan)教育部統計處 — Ministry of Education (Taiwan), school directories on data.gov.tw.
National standard data on schools and universities (South Korea)Korea Open Government Licence (KOGL) Type 1 — attribution교육부 및 시·도교육청 — 전국초중등학교위치표준데이터, 전국대학및전문대학정보표준데이터 (공공데이터포털).
Opintopolku organisation register (Finland)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Opetushallitus (Finnish National Agency for Education) — Opintopolku organisaatiopalvelu.
Padrón Oficial de Establecimientos Educativos (Argentina)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (Argentine national open-data policy)Secretaría de Educación de la Nación — Padrón Oficial de Establecimientos Educativos.
Padrón de servicios educativos (MINEDU) and SUNEDU licensing (Peru)Open Data Commons Attribution License (ODC-By)Ministerio de Educación del Perú (Padrón de Instituciones Educativas) y SUNEDU — Plataforma Nacional de Datos Abiertos.
Rejstřík škol a školských zařízení (Czechia)CC0 1.0Ministerstvo školství, mládeže a tělovýchovy — Rejstřík škol a školských zařízení (otevřená data).
Schools and higher-education institutions of the Wallonia-Brussels Federation (Belgium)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles (AGE) et ARES — Open Data Wallonie-Bruxelles, CC BY 4.0.
ЄДЕБО — register of educational institutions (Ukraine)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (open data, Resolution of the Cabinet of Ministers No. 835)Міністерство освіти і науки України — Єдина державна електронна база з питань освіти (ЄДЕБО), відкриті дані.
学校コード一覧 — MEXT school code list (Japan)Government of Japan Standard Terms of Use 2.0 (compatible with CC BY 4.0)文部科学省「学校コード一覧」 — Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (Japan).
ASCED → ISCED-F 2013 crosswalk (Australian Government Department of Education)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (Australian Government websites, unless stated otherwise)Australian Government Department of Education (with ABS and NCVER) — ISCED to ASCED concordance for fields of education.
Address list of schools — Welsh Government (Wales)Open Government Licence v3.0Contains public sector information from the Welsh Government (address list of schools), licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
Annuaire de l’éducation (France)Licence Ouverte / Open Licence 2.0Ministère de l’Éducation nationale — Annuaire de l’éducation (data.education.gouv.fr), Licence Ouverte 2.0.
CIP → ISCED-F 2013 crosswalk (Statistics Canada)Statistics Canada Open LicenceStatistics Canada — CIP Canada 2016 – ISCED-F 2013 concordance and CIP Canada 2016 – CIP Canada 2021 V1.0 correspondence; NCES CIP 2020 code list.
Centros docentes de la Comunitat Valenciana (Spain)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Generalitat Valenciana, Conselleria d’Educació — Centros docentes (Institut Cartogràfic Valencià WFS).
Centros educativos de la Comunidad de Madrid (Spain)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Comunidad de Madrid, Consejería de Educación — Centros educativos (datos abiertos).
Centros educativos — SIGMEP (Costa Rica)Public data of the Ministerio de Educación Pública (reused with attribution)Ministerio de Educación Pública de Costa Rica — Sistema de Información Geográfica del MEP (SIGMEP).
Data on Individual Schools — Department of Education (Ireland)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Department of Education and Youth, Ireland — Data on Individual Schools (POD / PPOD), CC BY 4.0.
Directori de centres docents (Spain — Catalonia)Open data of the Generalitat de Catalunya (reuse with attribution; terms of use of Dades Obertes Catalunya)Departament d’Educació i Formació Professional, Generalitat de Catalunya — Directori de centres docents.
Directorio de centros educativos de Andalucía (Spain)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Junta de Andalucía — Directorio de centros educativos no universitarios de Andalucía, CC BY 4.0.
Educational institutions from VIIS (Latvia)CC0 1.0Izglītības un zinātnes ministrija — Valsts izglītības informācijas sistēma (VIIS), via ĢeoLatvija.lv.
General information of schools — Ministry of Education (Singapore)Singapore Open Data Licence v1.0Ministry of Education, Singapore — General information of schools (data.gov.sg); locations from OneMap, Singapore Land Authority.
Institution Search — Department of Education (Northern Ireland)Open Government Licence v3.0Contains public sector information from the Department of Education (Northern Ireland), licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
Italian degree classes and school tracks → ISCED-F 2013 (Istat CLAIST)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (Istat)Istat — Classificazione dei titoli di studio italiani (CLAIST), CC BY 4.0.
Mapa škôl and higher-education register (Slovakia)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Centrum vedecko-technických informácií SR / Ministerstvo školstva SR — Mapa škôl; číselník vysokých škôl (portalvs.sk).
NUS 2000 → ISCED-F 2013 crosswalk (Statistics Norway, KLASS)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 InternationalStatistics Norway (SSB) — KLASS: Standard for utdanningsgruppering (NUS) ↔ ISCED-F 2013 Fagfelt (NUS).
Nasjonalt skoleregister (Norway)Norwegian Licence for Open Government Data (NLOD) 2.0Utdanningsdirektoratet (Norwegian Directorate for Education and Training) — Nasjonalt skoleregister, NLOD 2.0.
Registers of educational institutions — Ministry of Education (Serbia)Open Data Licence of the Republic of Serbia (Отворена лиценца)Министарство просвете Републике Србије — отворени подаци о установама.
SUN 2020 → ISCED-F 2013 crosswalk (Statistics Sweden)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (SCB open data)Statistics Sweden (SCB) — SUN 2020 inriktning ↔ ISCED-F 2013 key.
School Location and Information — Education Bureau (Hong Kong)DATA.GOV.HK Terms and Conditions of UseEducation Bureau, Government of the Hong Kong SAR — School Location and Information (DATA.GOV.HK).
School locations — Scottish Government (Scotland)Open Government Licence v3.0Contains public sector information from the Scottish Government (school locations), licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
Schools and higher-education institutions (Croatia)Otvorena dozvola (Open Licence of the Republic of Croatia)Ministarstvo znanosti, obrazovanja i mladih — data.gov.hr, Otvorena dozvola.
Schuldaten NRW (Germany — North Rhine-Westphalia)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Zero – Version 2.0Ministerium für Schule und Bildung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen — Schuldaten (Open Data).
Schuldatenbank Sachsen (Germany — Saxony)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Sächsisches Staatsministerium für Kultus — Schuldatenbank Sachsen.
Schulen im Saarland (Germany — Saarland)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Ministerium für Bildung und Kultur Saarland / Geoportal Saarland — Schulen im Saarland.
Schulen in Baden-Württemberg (Germany)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Ministerium für Kultus, Jugend und Sport Baden-Württemberg — Schulen (INSPIRE-Dienst).
Schulen in Berlin (Germany — Berlin)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Zero – Version 2.0Senatsverwaltung für Bildung, Jugend und Familie Berlin — Schulen (GDI Berlin).
Schulen in Brandenburg (Germany)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Ministerium für Bildung, Jugend und Sport des Landes Brandenburg — Schullandschaft Brandenburg.
Schulen in Hamburg (Germany — Hamburg)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg, Behörde für Schule, Familie und Berufsbildung — Schulen (Urban Data Platform).
Schulen in Österreich — Statistik Austria (Austria)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Statistik Austria — Schulstatistik, Schulstandorte (ATLAS_SCHULE_OPEN), CC BY 4.0.
Schulstandorte Bayern (Germany — Bavaria)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Unterricht und Kultus — Schulstandorte Bayern (WFS).
Schulstandorte Bremen und Bremerhaven (Germany)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Die Senatorin für Kinder und Bildung, Freie Hansestadt Bremen — Schulstandorte (GDI Bremen).
Schulstandorte Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (Germany)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Ministerium für Bildung und Kindertagesförderung Mecklenburg-Vorpommern — Schulstandorte (GeoPortal.MV).
Schulstandorte Sachsen-Anhalt (Germany)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Ministerium für Bildung des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt — Schulstandorte.
Schulstandorte Thüringen (Germany — Thuringia)Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0Freistaat Thüringen — Schulstandorte (Geoportal Thüringen).
Schulverzeichnis Schleswig-Holstein (Germany)CC0 1.0Ministerium für Allgemeine und Berufliche Bildung, Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kultur Schleswig-Holstein — Schulen (Open Data).
Skolenhetsregistret (Sweden)CC0 1.0 (Skolverket open data)Skolverket (Swedish National Agency for Education) — Skolenhetsregistret, open API.
Établissements scolaires et universitaires (Morocco)Open Database License (ODbL) 1.0Ministère de l’Éducation Nationale, du Préscolaire et des Sports; Ministère de l’Enseignement Supérieur — data.gov.ma, ODbL.
Μητρώο Μονάδων — Greek School Network unit registry (Greece)Public data of the Ministry of Education (no explicit licence stated; reused with attribution)Υπουργείο Παιδείας — Πανελλήνιο Σχολικό Δίκτυο, Μητρώο Μονάδων (mm.sch.gr).
Alberta school and authority list (Canada)Open Government Licence – AlbertaContains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Alberta (Alberta Education).
British Columbia schools and post-secondary institutions (Canada)Open Government Licence – British ColumbiaContains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – British Columbia.
Centros ANEP (Uruguay)CC0 1.0Administración Nacional de Educación Pública (ANEP), Uruguay — Centros ANEP (catalogodatos.gub.uy).
Common Core of Data public school directory (NCES)Public domain (U.S. Government work)U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Common Core of Data and EDGE.
DBH — faculties, departments and campuses (Norway)Norwegian Licence for Open Government Data (NLOD) 2.0Direktoratet for høyere utdanning og kompetanse (HK-dir) — Database for statistikk om høyere utdanning (DBH), tables 210 and 662.
DEQAR — programme accreditations (EQAR)Open Data Commons Public Domain Dedication and Licence (PDDL) 1.0Data: EQAR — European Quality Assurance Register for Higher Education (DEQAR), used under the ODC PDDL.
Directorio Oficial de Establecimientos Educacionales (Chile)Open data published by the Ministerio de Educación de Chile (Datos Abiertos MINEDUC); no licence stated — used for facts with attributionCentro de Estudios, Ministerio de Educación de Chile — Directorio Oficial de Establecimientos Educacionales.
NSW public schools master dataset (Australia)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0NSW Department of Education — NSW public schools master dataset (Data.NSW), CC BY 4.0.
Nova Scotia public and private schools (Canada)Open Government Licence – Nova ScotiaContains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Nova Scotia.
Ontario school lists (Canada)Open Government Licence – OntarioContains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Ontario (Ontario Ministry of Education).
POL-on — branch campuses (Poland)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Ministerstwo Nauki i Szkolnictwa Wyższego — RAD-on / POL-on, dane otwarte (filie).
Private School Universe Survey (NCES)Public domain (U.S. Government work)U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Private School Universe Survey.
School locations — Department of Education (Australia — Victoria)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Department of Education, Victoria — School locations (DataVic), CC BY 4.0.
Western Australian schools list (Australia — Western Australia)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Department of Education, Western Australia — Western Australian schools lists, CC BY 4.0.
Établissements d’enseignement du Québec (Canada)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Ministère de l’Éducation et Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur du Québec — Données Québec, CC BY 4.0.
ЄДЕБО — branches and separate structural units (Ukraine)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (open data, Resolution of the Cabinet of Ministers No. 835)Міністерство освіти і науки України — Єдина державна електронна база з питань освіти (ЄДЕБО), відкриті дані.
CRICOS registered courses (Australia)Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 AustraliaAustralian Government Department of Education — CRICOS courses and course locations (data.gov.au), CC BY 2.5 AU.
DAPIP programme accreditations (U.S. Department of Education)Public domain (U.S. Government work)U.S. Department of Education, Office of Postsecondary Education — Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs (DAPIP).
DBH — study programmes and Samordna opptak (Norway)Norwegian Licence for Open Government Data (NLOD) 2.0HK-dir — Database for statistikk om høyere utdanning (DBH), tables 347, 379, 469; Statistics Norway (SSB) KLASS correspondences (CC BY 4.0).
DUO — higher-education programmes and NVAO accreditations (Netherlands)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0DUO (Dienst Uitvoering Onderwijs) — Registratie Instellingen en Opleidingen (RIO): Overzicht Erkenningen ho, HO Opleidingsoverzicht.
EHIS — registered curricula (Estonia)Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0Haridus- ja Teadusministeerium — Eesti Hariduse Infosüsteem (EHIS), avaandmed: õppekavad.
GRID3 Nigeria education facilities (Nigeria)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0GRID3 Nigeria (with the Federal Government of Nigeria) — Nigeria education facilities, via the Humanitarian Data Exchange, CC BY 4.0.
Higher-education campuses — ARES implantations (Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles, Belgium)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0ARES — Académie de recherche et d’enseignement supérieur, Référentiel des implantations d’enseignement supérieur en FWB (odwb.be), CC BY 4.0.
IPEDS programmes offered (NCES, United States)Public domain (U.S. Government work)U.S. Department of Education, National Center for Education Statistics, Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) — programs offered (C{year}DEP) and CIP 2020.
InfoCursos — higher-education courses (DGEEC, Portugal)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Direção-Geral de Estatísticas da Educação e Ciência (DGEEC) — InfoCursos (infocursos.medu.pt), CC BY 4.0.
Official university degrees and centres — SIIU / RUCT (Spain)Reuse permitted with attribution (Ministerio de Ciencia, Innovación y Universidades — Aviso legal)Fuente: Catálogo de datos del Ministerio de Ciencia, Innovación y Universidades (ciencia.gob.es) — Sistema Integrado de Información Universitaria (SIIU).
Ontario college and university programmes (Ontario Data Catalogue)Open Government Licence – OntarioContains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Ontario (Ministry of Colleges and Universities).
Open Database of Educational Facilities (Statistics Canada)Open Government Licence – CanadaStatistics Canada, Open Database of Educational Facilities (ODEF) v2.1 — contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.
POL-on — degree programmes and PKA assessments (Poland)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Ministerstwo Nauki i Szkolnictwa Wyższego — RAD-on / POL-on, dane otwarte (kierunki studiów).
Portál VŠ — study programmes and faculties (Slovakia)Public register data (Ministry of Education, Research, Development and Youth of the Slovak Republic), reused with attributionMinisterstvo školstva, výskumu, vývoja a mládeže SR — číselníky Portálu VŠ (študijné programy, fakulty, vysoké školy).
ROR — academic divisions (parent/child relationships)CC0 1.0Research Organization Registry (ror.org), data dump on Zenodo (community ror-data), CC0.
Studiengänge — degree programmes (BMFWF, Austria)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Bundesministerium für Frauen, Wissenschaft und Forschung (BMFWF) — Studiengänge (data.gv.at), CC BY 4.0.
Susa-navet — higher-education and YH programmes (Sweden)CC0 1.0Skolverket / Universitets- och högskolerådet / Myndigheten för yrkeshögskolan — Susa-navet (utbildningsinformation), CC0.
Wikidata — academic divisionsCC0 1.0 (Wikidata)Wikidata contributors (wikidata.org), CC0. Logos are links to Wikimedia Commons files, each under its own licence.
CAA accredited programmes (United Arab Emirates)Public information of the Commission for Academic Accreditation (reused with attribution)Commission for Academic Accreditation, UAE Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research — accredited programs.
DUO — mbo programmes offered (Netherlands)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0DUO (Dienst Uitvoering Onderwijs) — Registratie Instellingen en Opleidingen (RIO): MBO Opleidingsaanbod.
Graduate programmes evaluated by CAPES (Brazil)Creative Commons Attribution (CAPES open data)CAPES — Programas da Pós-Graduação stricto sensu no Brasil (dadosabertos.capes.gov.br).
Higher-education curricula (MHESI Thailand)MHESI open data (licence not specified; reused with attribution)กระทรวงการอุดมศึกษา วิทยาศาสตร์ วิจัยและนวัตกรรม (อว.) — หลักสูตรที่เปิดสอนในระดับอุดมศึกษา, แผนการรับนักศึกษา, หลักสูตรที่ผ่านการพิจารณาความสอดคล้อง (data.mhesi.go.th).
JUPAS programmes (Hong Kong central undergraduate admissions)Public information of the JUPAS Office (facts reused with attribution)JUPAS Office — Programmes offered through the Joint University Programmes Admissions System.
MZOM — register of study programmes (Croatia)Otvorena dozvola (Open Licence of the Republic of Croatia)Ministarstvo znanosti, obrazovanja i mladih — Registar studijskih programa (data.gov.hr).
MonMaster master’s programmes (France)Licence Ouverte / Open Licence 2.0 (Etalab)Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche — MonMaster, vœux et réponses des établissements (data.enseignementsup-recherche.gouv.fr), Licence Ouverte 2.0.
NZQA — tertiary organisations and NZQF qualifications (New Zealand)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 InternationalNew Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA) — Education organisations and NZQCF qualifications, CC BY 4.0.
Opintopolku — programmes and application options (Finland)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (Opintopolku open data)Opetushallitus (Finnish National Agency for Education) — Opintopolku / Studyinfo, konfo-backend external API.
Parcoursup formations (France)Licence Ouverte / Open Licence 2.0 (Etalab)Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche — Cartographie des formations Parcoursup (data.enseignementsup-recherche.gouv.fr), Licence Ouverte 2.0.
SISE diplomas prepared in public higher-education institutions (France)Licence Ouverte / Open Licence 2.0 (Etalab)Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Recherche — Principaux diplômes et formations préparés dans les établissements publics (SISE), Licence Ouverte 2.0.
SNIES higher-education programmes (MEN Colombia)Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0Ministerio de Educación Nacional (Colombia) — SNIES: MEN_MATRICULA_ESTADISTICA_ES and MEN_PROGRAMAS_DE_EDUCACIÓN_SUPERIOR (datos.gov.co).
SSSDP designated undergraduate programmes (Education Bureau, Hong Kong)DATA.GOV.HK Terms and ConditionsEducation Bureau, HKSAR Government — Programme information of the Study Subsidy Scheme for Designated Professions/Sectors (DATA.GOV.HK).
SUNEDU licensed university programmes (Peru)Open Data Commons Attribution License (ODC-By)SUNEDU — Programas académicos de universidades licenciadas, Plataforma Nacional de Datos Abiertos (Perú).
TEQSA National Register — course accreditations (Australia)Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 AustraliaTertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency — National Register courses and decisions (data.gov.au), CC BY 2.5 AU.
Undergraduate courses — INEP Higher Education Census (Brazil)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 (Brazilian federal open data)Instituto Nacional de Estudos e Pesquisas Educacionais Anísio Teixeira (INEP) — Microdados do Censo da Educação Superior.
University degree courses — USTAT enrolments per course (MUR, Italy)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0Ministero dell’Università e della Ricerca — Ufficio di Statistica (USTAT), open data "Iscritti per corso di studio", CC BY 4.0.
University departments and degree programmes (MOE Taiwan)Open Government Data License, version 1.0 (Taiwan)Ministry of Education (Taiwan), Department of Statistics and Department of Higher Education — data.gov.tw datasets 9622 and 27932.
University departments and majors (data.go.kr standard data, South Korea)Korea Open Government Licence (KOGL) Type 1Korean Council for University Education (대학알리미) — 전국대학별학과정보표준데이터, Public Data Portal (data.go.kr).
Upper-secondary study tracks per school (MIM, Italy)Italian Open Data Licence v2.0Ministero dell’Istruzione e del Merito — Studenti scuola secondaria di secondo grado per indirizzo (dati.istruzione.it), IODL 2.0.
Vocational training offer per centre — FPCAT (Catalonia, Spain)Llicència oberta d’ús d’informació – CatalunyaGeneralitat de Catalunya — Oferta formativa FPCAT (analisi.transparenciacatalunya.cat).
CUE approved academic programmes (Kenya)Public information of the Commission for University Education (reused with attribution)Commission for University Education (Kenya) — Accredited academic programmes offered in chartered universities.
Concurso Nacional de Acesso — course pages (DGES, Portugal)Public information of the Direção-Geral do Ensino Superior (facts reproduced with attribution)Direção-Geral do Ensino Superior (DGES) — Guia da Candidatura, Concurso Nacional de Acesso (www.dges.gov.pt/guias).
DUO — secondary-school tracks per location (Netherlands)Creative Commons Attribution 4.0DUO (Dienst Uitvoering Onderwijs) — Adressen van vestigingen in het voortgezet onderwijs.
IZM — education programmes offered per institution (Latvia)CC0 1.0Izglītības un zinātnes ministrija — atvērtie dati (izglītojamo skaits pa izglītības programmām), data.gov.lv.
Ireland — ILEP eligible programmes, TrustEd Ireland and CAO participationIrish Government public-sector information (re-use of facts with attribution); QQI and CAO pages used for facts onlyDepartment of Justice (Irish Immigration Service) — Interim List of Eligible Programmes; Quality and Qualifications Ireland — TrustEd Ireland; Central Applications Office — participating institutions.
Malaysian Qualifications Register — accredited programmes (MQA)Public register of the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (facts reused with attribution)Malaysian Qualifications Agency — Malaysian Qualifications Register (MQR).
RSSZ — fields of education per school (Czechia)CC0 1.0Ministerstvo školství, mládeže a tělovýchovy — Rejstřík škol a školských zařízení (otevřená data).
Register of licensed sponsors: students (UK Home Office)Open Government Licence v3.0Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0 — Home Office, Register of licensed sponsors: students.
SEVP-certified schools (Study in the States, DHS)Public domain (U.S. Government work)U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement, Student and Exchange Visitor Program — certified school list (Study in the States).
School study tracks — Annuaire de l’éducation (France)Licence Ouverte / Open Licence 2.0 (Etalab)Ministère de l’Éducation nationale — Annuaire de l’éducation (data.education.gouv.fr), Licence Ouverte 2.0.
University degree programmes by school (Graduate Employment Survey, Singapore)Singapore Open Data Licence v1.0Ministry of Education (Singapore) — Graduate Employment Survey (NTU, NUS, SIT, SMU, SUSS & SUTD), data.gov.sg.
Wikidata — programme itemsCC0 1.0 (Wikidata)Wikidata contributors (wikidata.org), CC0. Logos are links to Wikimedia Commons files, each under its own licence.
PGWP field-of-study eligibility (IRCC, Canada)Crown copyright — reproduced under the canada.ca terms and conditions (non-commercial reproduction permitted with attribution)Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada — Post-graduation work permit field of study requirement; Designated learning institutions list.
training.gov.au — RTOs and their scope of registration (Australia)Australian Government — National Training Register facts via the public NTR Web API (training-package content licensed separately; see copyright page)Australian Government Department of Employment and Workplace Relations — training.gov.au National Training Register.
Discover Uni — undergraduate courses (United Kingdom)Open Government Licence v3.0 (Discover Uni data)Discover Uni — Office for Students and the UK higher-education funding bodies; data collected by HESA (Jisc). Contains public sector information licensed under the OGL v3.0.
International-student eligibility from official registersAs each register (see CRICOS and Designated Learning Institutions sources)Australian Government Department of Education — CRICOS; Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada — Designated Learning Institutions list.
Divisions, programmes and accreditations — linking to the right unitDerived from the linked sources (each keeps its own licence)Kaitu — links between records from the sources listed on this page.
Wikipedia article logos (infobox logo, seal, emblem, coat of arms)Links only (images are not copied); each image keeps its own licence on Wikipedia / Wikimedia CommonsLogos link to the files shown in each organisation’s Wikipedia article (Wikimedia Foundation); trademarks belong to their owners.
OpenStreetMap — schools, colleges, universities and other places of educationOpen Database License (ODbL) 1.0© OpenStreetMap contributors
Logo link checkerChecks links only (HEAD requests); no content is copiedKaitu link checks of logo and icon URLs.
Website icons (favicon, touch icon, social image)Links only (images are not copied); icons remain their owners’ propertyIcons link to each organisation’s own website.

Map and place data © OpenStreetMap contributors, available under the Open Database License (ODbL). Where a source's licence asks for work built on it to be shared alike, the corresponding part of Kaitu's database is available on request under the same terms.

Kaitu TV

Kaitu TV’s On Demand library — whole films and whole series — is described from open databases by the same software, kept current automatically: TMDB’s published database downloads (every film and series TMDB lists, kept whole and losslessly compressed, to match titles and order them by popularity); Wikidata (CC0: dates, running times, genres, credits, identifiers); Wikipedia (synopses, CC BY-SA 4.0); Wikimedia Commons (posters and stills, each under its own licence); and TVmaze (series, episode guides and images, CC BY-SA 4.0). Programmes stream from the Internet Archive. No image is copied: every poster, background and still is shown from where it lives, and each title’s page credits its sources.

Programs, jobs and housing

Kaitu also keeps three databases for helping its clients, built the same way and kept current automatically: programs (residence, citizenship and visa programs worldwide, from IMI Daily’s program pages), jobs (from IMI Daily’s job board, Arbeitnow, Himalayas, Jobicy, Remotive, Canada’s Job Bank open data (Open Government Licence – Canada), and the work exchanges listed by WWOOF, HelpX and the Foundation for Intentional Community) and housing (stays with WWOOF and HelpX hosts, intentional communities from the Foundation for Intentional Community, and homes let in cities worldwide from Inside Airbnb, CC BY 4.0). Places are found with the GeoNames gazetteer (CC BY 4.0). The maps’ borders are from Natural Earth (public domain: countries, and their states, provinces and regions) and geoBoundaries (William & Mary geoLab: districts, counties, municipalities and communes, each country’s layer under its own open licence — ODbL, CC BY, CC0 or public domain — and its original sources credited there). Each record keeps the facts a client needs and links to its source, where the full listing lives; no personal details of hosts are kept, a host’s place is shown only approximately, and pictures are only ever linked. KaituDataBot reads only what each site publishes for everyone and follows each site’s robots.txt.

Corrections and opting out

If you run a site we read and would like us to slow down or stop, or you spot an error about your institution, write to hello@kaitu.org. We correct errors promptly and always record the original public source of each fact.